What are the major differences between IndyCar and Formula 1?

Both IndyCar and Formula 1 races are popular. They will have their premier races of the year soon. IndyCar began in 1911 in Indianapolis, and Formula 1 started in 1929 in Monaco. Both have an open wheel and open cockpit race cars. Here are the prime differences between the two races.


Both use V-6 internal combustion engines. IndyCar engines are 2.2-liter units and run on E85 ethanol. Formula One, on the other hand, uses 1.6 liters advanced hybrid power units engines. These run on unleaded fuel blends.


IndyCars have the highest speed limit of 240 mph, and Formula One car are 225 mph. A Formula One car can go 60mph in just 2 seconds, whereas an IndyCar goes 3 seconds time.


An IndyCar with engine, chassis, brakes, transmission and tires cost $3,000,000. A high range Formula One car costs 50 times more than IndyCar.They often cost $200,000,000! A number of measures are taken to cut down costs of Formula One cars. These cars are not allowed to be tested more than a few days in a year. Also, the time spent in the wind tunnel is restricted.


You can get the components of IndyCar off the shelf. You can get the engine from Chevrolet or Honda. The chassis are made by Dallara. Different aerodynamic packages are included for different tracks. There is low downforce for places like Indianapolis where the speed is an important factor and high downforce for road courses. IndyCar focuses on the drivers and not the cars. Formula 1, on the other hand, is all about cars. You can view Formula One cars as inverted airplanes. The shape of the car is designed so that the car is pulled down onto the track surface.

Both the cars are amazing and give the drivers a thrilling experience. In terms of popularity, Formula 1 seems to be a little ahead of the IndyCars.


Top 5 IndyCar drivers of all time

You will hardly find any person who loves car racing but hasn’t fallen for Indy cars. These cars are very fast and are exciting to watch them on tracks. Some IndyCar drivers have made history. Here are the top IndyCar drivers who will never be forgotten.

A.J. Foyt


This American driver won the Indy 500 four times. He tied most of the times with Al Unser and Rick Mears. He is the only driver to start 35 consecutive Indy 500s. He was named Associated Press ‘Driver of the Century’ along with Andretti. He had all kinds of racing experiences, from NASCAR to Open Wheel.

Mario Andretti


He was born in Italy. He was the four-time IndyCar National Champ winner, Daytona 500 winner, Indy 500 winner, and more. He is the last American to win the Formula 1 world championship in 1978.

Michael Andretti


His career spanned from 1983 to 2007. He has been fifth in stars, sixth in poles, and third in top three finishes. He is the last American to podium in Formula 1. Michael had bad luck. In his 16 Indy 500 starts, he led the race nine times but has never won it.

Scott Dixon


He is from New Zealand. He won his first IndyCar race in Miami on 2003. He has 39 wins so far. He is the leading non-U.S. driver in American Championship Cars. He is currently the top driver in the current IndyCar Series. He is being selected as one of the 33 greatest drivers in Indianapolis 500 history.

Al Unser


Al Unser comes from a racing family. His brother Bobby won the Indy 500 three times. His son Al Jr. has won the Cup two times. Six people in the family started the Indy 500. None won more than Al Sr., who won 10 out of the 18 races in one year. Al Unser was born in New Mexico and was into car racing for 30 years.

These names will always be remembered in the world of racing. Their performances on the track have mesmerized spectators for many years.